20140113-071758.jpg

 

The statement in this picture couldn’t be more true! In order for your children to know your role as the mother in their lives, you cannot allow anyone else to play that role for you. Yes, you will need help. Yes, it does take a village to raise a child but the child should not be confused on who is the mother.

 

When I went away to college, my first two years my daughter stayed with mother and brother. I lost my role as her mother because I didn’t take up my responsibility as her mother. She didn’t call me mom or mama. She had a nickname for me. I allowed that to happen because I forgot my role in her life. I had gotten comfortable with someone else doing it for me. Even though I went home whenever I could catch a ride and talked to her on the phone, it still wasn’t enough. Those two years of her life I missed out on. I was too caught up with the college lifestyle to truly think about my daughter. Going into my junior in college, I made a decision to move my child with me. I got an apartment and was able to keep her in daycare. We have been inseparable since then. Now she is a freshmen in college and still just a big old baby. (smile)

 

It’s easy to let someone else raise your child but what will the effects have in the long run? It’s easy to say this is too hard and I can’t do it but who is really suffering from that decision? No one wakes up and says “I think I will be a teen mom today” but it happens. No matter how wrong the choice is that we made to get us to this point, the child is still a gift from God. You have to take responsibility for your actions. You have to woman up and weather through the joys and tears of motherhood. As a mother that is our responsibility. You cannot get time back but you can make better choices now for a greater future.

 

If you want your child to know that you are the most important person in their life after God, then you must be in their lives today. Sacrifices have to be made and they are not always peachy but the joys of motherhood will outweigh any sacrifice that you make as a mother. Start this new year off right. Swallow your pride and make amends. Admit where you wrong and start today making thing right. Your child is waiting on you! Will you keep them waiting?

