Philippians 4:4 (NIV)

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!

As I was getting ready to celebrate another year of life, the enemy started speaking to me. He began to remind me of all the things I don’t have and what I have not accomplished. He began to account for some prayers that I’m still waiting on God to answer. He began to try and tell me that things are really not that good. He thought he had me but God…

Even though I’m still waiting it’s not what it looks like. Then I began to take an inventory over my life and these are some of the things that I found. I’m still alive and well! I may not be where I should be but I thank God I’m not where I use to be. My finances are not where I would like them but I don’t have to beg for anything. I don’t live in the house that I have dreamed of but I am able to keep a roof over my head. I still may be single but God has surrounded me without a lot of loving people. I am not the perfect parent but my child still walks in the favor of God! My career may not be where I want it but I’m blessed to be employed. As I look back over my life and think these over, I can truly say that I am blessed. I am a testimony!!!

You see, I had a choice. I could have given in to what the enemy was saying and threw myself a pity party and invited some folks to join in with me but instead I chose to take inventory over my life and remind myself just how far God has brought me. He took a 15 year old teen mother with an attitude and chip on her shoulder to a young woman who fears the Lord! Yes, I’m still flawed with my own issues but I’m also blessed and highly favored! I’m a work in progress but I’m still filled with the Holy Spirit. I get weak sometimes but I still trust Him at His word!

When was the last time you took inventory over your life and proved the enemy wrong? Do it now for it is inventory time!

Father, thank you for this day that you have allowed me to see in spite of. Help me to take inventory over my life and remember all the things you have brought me out of and delivered me from. It’s not what it looks like. I don’t look like what I been through! My greater is coming! In Jesus name, amen!

