Proverbs 29:15 (NLT)

“The rod and rebuke give wisdom, but a child left to himself brings shame to his mother”

As mothers it is our responsibility to discipline our children in love. We don’t have to beat them in order for them to know right from wrong. We are to correct them and show them the right way. Children cannot discipline themselves and when left to raise themselves they will bring you shame. We must have a stern voice that is still full of love. They must know their role as children and know our role as their mother. We are parents first and foremost. Being a child’s friend will not help them in the long run and they will lose their respect for us.

Children do not know what is best for them. That’s where we come in as adults. We must seek wisdom from God in how to correctly discipline our children. What works for one child may not work for another. Trying to mimic what you see one mother doing to her child may not work when dealing with your own child. God will guide us in this area if we seek His help.

Our children must know that we discipline them because we love them not because they are bad children. It is for their good and safety. We have to communicate better with our children and let them know that because they broke a rule this is the consequence. They need to know that for every action whether it be good or bad there are consequences that come with it. Remember discipline your child in love. Try not to discipline them when you are upset or angry. You may end doing something that you will regret later. Everyday tell your child that you love with a hug and a kiss.

Father, I ask your help in this journey called motherhood. I need guidance and wisdom on how to discipline my child the right way. Help me to stand firm on my rules and never compromise your word. Help me to be consistent in my disciplining. Help me to discipline in love. Give me self control and show me the way. In Jesus name, amen!

