Proverbs 1:10 (NLT)

My child, if sinners entice you, turn your back on them!

 

There are people whose only motive is to see you self destruct. It doesn’t matter how they accomplish this goal as long as it is completed. Sometimes they come in the form of family members, friends, enemies, coworkers and even children. The enemy will use whatever willing vessel is available. We always have to be on guard not in a negative way but we have to protect ourselves from the enemy. We have to know when to walk way and when to fight. At times our walking away can be more powerful than engaging in the situation at hand. We have to have on the armour of God at all times.

Now there is a difference when you are assisting someone in order that they might find their way in life but you better be sure that the Holy Spirit is leading you. Examine the situation and see whether or not you are spending more time trying to build them up than you are with your own relationship with God? Some people will deliberately do negative things because they know that you will drop everything and come running to their rescue and we don’t realize that we are the main ones getting hurt. You can take a horse to water but you can’t make it drink. We can bail people out time and time again but we cannot make them live right. We need to intercede on their behalf to the Father and allow Him to transform them from the inside out. Sometimes tough love is necessary but it doesn’t mean that we love them any less.

 

Father, I need discernment to know when to walk way and when to extend a helping hand. I don’t want to be enticed by the enemy. I don’t want to be manipulated by the enemy but I want to walk in my Kingdom authority. Lord, I need wisdom and a greater understanding of your word and how to deal with people. I need you to help me every step of the way. Lead me and order my steps. Lord, take control right now and start the transformation process. I thank you in advance for all things are working for my good. In Jesus name, amen!

